Mac Miller – Blue Slide Park Album Review

I’m not going to say I’ve been following Mac Miller from the very start, but I will say I early adopted his tracks long before he did MTV spots and international tours, so I can confidently say my opinion on him hasn’t been tainted, Pitchfork’s harsh but fair review however, has made some very valid points and may have influenced my image of him. I have been resisting the urge to criticize his abnormally fast rise of success but I gave him the benefit of the doubt. The only way he could screw this up for me is if he did it on his own by means of a shitty track or something a little obscure like a racist rant a-la Cosmo Kramer.

If you didn’t follow the link to Pitchfork’s review, basically they gave his album a big fat 1. Not because of his skills. Not because of the production, but because of his fans. At first I couldn’t believe how anyone could judge the merit of one’s album from the reaction of fans. Well, this IS Pitchfork and they do a good job in breaking down the facts and figures that make him a sub-par artist. Which are all very compelling notes on the industry and factors that may have influences what is popular today. But I’m going to have to put my foot down and call the review out, as an unfair dismissal of what is clearly a successful, and great sounding album, even if I do agree on the majority of their points.

the reason Miller’s mass of fans follow him is not because of his music, at least not completely. It’s because he looks just like them, because they can see themselves up on the stage behind him, if not next to him.” – Pitchfork

Read More on Titleguy

Tagged , ,

Your Opinion Matters!

